The Yasen class, also known as the Graney class, is a series of nuclear-powered cruise missile submarines built for the Russian Navy by the Malakhit Marine Engineering Bureau and Sevmash. Based on the Akula and Alfa class designs, the Yasen class is intended to replace the Russian Navy’s older Soviet-era nuclear attack submarines. The first Yasen-class submarine was built in the 1990s and early 2010s, with commissioning in 2013. Two more boats based on a modified design, known as the Yasen-M, were commissioned in 2021, and six more are under construction. The Yasen-class submarines were designed by Malakhit, one of the three main Soviet/Russian submarine design centers, and were intended to start construction in 1977 and be completed in 1985. However, the project was delayed due to financial issues and work on the first boat did not resume until 2003. It was originally scheduled to be launched in 1995 and commissioned in 1998, but the completion date was eventually pushed back to 2010. The Yasen-class is known for being one of the quietest Russian and Chinese nuclear submarines, but it is not as stealthy as contemporary US Navy submarines such as the Seawolf and Virginia classes. The first boat, Severodvinsk, was handed over to the Russian Navy in 2013 and the flag-raising ceremony was held in 2014 to mark its official introduction. Kazan, the second boat in the class, was commissioned in May 2021.

Severodvinsk /Yasen Project 885 Class Submarine Model
Severodvinsk /Yasen Project 885 Class Submarine Model,Navy,Scale Model,Mahogany,20 inch,Severodvinsk

Sail again with the crew of the Severodvinsk /Yasen Project 885 Class in this handcrafted wooden Submarine Model. Each piece is carved from wood and handpainted to provide a piece you’ll love.

  • Length- 20 inches
  • Made from Mahogany
  • US Veteran Owned Business
not rated $399.00 Add to cart